Indianapolis-based DoubleMap received the Tech Startup of the Year Award during TechPoint’s 15th annual Mira Awards honoring the best of tech in Indiana. DoubleMap is an online bus-tracking application delivering real-time information for both riders and transit authorities, allowing communities to get the most out of their public transit system.

DoubleMap provides a web application accessible through any web browser, native apps for both the Android and iPhone, as well as a mobile version. In addition to the tracking application, DoubleMap supplies transit authorities with an intuitive administration panel and a multitude of reports for managing their fleet’s efficiency.

DoubleMap impressed the Mira Awards judges on multiple fronts, including the startup’s stunning seven-digit sales growth and sheer speed to market in 2013. Through an ingenious student government sales channel and quickly developing a second generation product that supports riders with disabilities, DoubleMap has already achieved significant nationwide market penetration with 10 U.S. cities and 40 college campuses.

While continuing to grow organically, including international expansion, DoubleMap also took the unprecedented step of acquiring Orlando-based ride hailing app TapRide without any venture backing. New sales and distribution partnerships with telecom giants like Verizon and robust ridership analytics that empower customers to optimize efficiency and maximize budgets bode extremely well for broad adoption and skyrocketing eight-digit projected growth for DoubleMap.

TechPoint, Indiana’s technology growth initiative, honored DoubleMap and 14 other Indiana-based companies, entrepreneurs and educators for their technology excellence and innovation on May 3, at the Mira Awards gala presented by BKD CPAs & Advisors. Mira — Latin for miracle and a variable star thousands of times brighter than the Earth’s sun — represents the best of tech in Indiana each year.

Forty-eight independent, volunteer judges spent more than 700 collective hours reviewing the applications, interviewing the nominees and choosing the 15 winners. Judges were primarily subject matter experts and experienced company executives.