Social Net Watcher, last year’s Education Tech Mira Award winner, secured more than $250,000 in venture capital from four new investors as a result of exposure from the Mira Awards.

The nomination and application deadline for TechPoint’s 16th annual Mira Awards presented by BKD CPAs & Advisors is Friday, Jan. 16, 2015. Anyone can nominate companies, startups, schools, teams or individuals for the awards, which are often referred to as Indiana’s technology Oscars. Potential nominees can also apply directly by completing the online form at



TechPoint created the awards program to recognize tech excellence and innovation statewide, and ultimately to stimulate future tech growth and entrepreneurship.

Past winners confirm that winning a Mira Award increases sales and has a positive impact on brand awareness. Social Net Watcher, the cloud-based anti-bullying software startup and last year’s Education Tech Mira Award winner, secured more than $250,000 in venture capital from four new investors as a result of exposure from the Mira Awards. Other past winners reported signing $1 million in new business, closing a deal with a new billion-dollar customer, getting profiled by national media and even being invited to the White House. (See previously reported success stories:







“This year’s Mira Awards, more than any other year, will be an accelerator for growth, where millions of dollars of value in exposure to media/PR, investors and prospective customers will be directed at these winners.” said Mike Langellier, president and CEO of TechPoint. “We want to create success stories.”

More than 40 independent subject matter experts, who serve as judges, will evaluate and score the applications. The scoring determines which applicants will become official 2015 Mira Awards nominees. Finally, nominees will deliver presentations and answer questions in-person with one of the independent judging panels, and the judges select the winners following their deliberations.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie awards ceremony and gala featuring an interactive dinner, live music and an after party on Saturday, March 21, at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis. It’s worth noting that the Mira Awards is nearly two months earlier than usual this year.

The 2015 TechPoint Mira Award categories include:

  • Product or Team Achievement
    • Tech Innovation of the Year
    • Tech Services Award
    • Tech Sales and Marketing Award
  • Company Success
    • Tech Startup of the Year (Established Under 3 Years)
    • Emerging Tech Company of the Year (Under 100 Employees)
    • Tech Company of the Year
  • Industry-Specific Excellence
    • Marketing Tech Award
    • Mobile Tech Award
    • Health Tech Award
    • Education Tech Award
  • Individual Achievement
    • Tech Educator(s) of the Year (Individual or Team)
    • TechPoint Rising Star
    • TechPoint Foundation for Youth Bridge Builder Award
    • TechPoint Trailblazer in Technology Award

Nomination and application forms are available at, and the deadline is Friday, Jan. 16, 2015.