TechPoint recognized Salesforce Marketing Cloud CEO Scott McCorkle as Indiana’s 2016 Trailblazer in Technology during the 17th annual TechPoint Mira Awards on Saturday.

The Mira Awards presented by Angie’s List, Interactive Intelligence, and Salesforce, recognize and celebrate the best of tech in Indiana each year. The TechPoint Trailblazer in Technology Award recognizes visionaries whose contributions have had lasting and significant impact on our technology ecosystem and our state.

Previous winners include Chris Baggot, Bobby Schnabel, Don Brown, Scott Dorsey, Bill Godfrey, Robert Compton, Jo Ann Gora, Scott Webber, Wil Davis, Michael McRobbie, Mark Hill, Scott Jones, David Becker, The Lilly Endowment, and Martin Jischke.

“Scott has played vital roles in some of Indiana’s all-time biggest tech success stories — first with Software Artistry 20 years ago, then with ExactTarget, and now as CEO of Salesforce Marketing Cloud,” Mike Langellier, president, TechPoint said. “He is an extraordinary technology and business leader who has had and continues to have immense impact on our tech community and the marketing tech community worldwide.”

McCorkle served as president of technology and strategy for ExactTarget prior to the company’s acquisition by Salesforce, and took over the Salesforce Marketing Cloud CEO role in May 2014. Salesforce, the Customer Success Platform and world’s #1 CRM, empowers companies to connect with their customers in a whole new way.

Prior to his roles at Salesforce, McCorkle was the co-founder and president of Mezzia, Inc., a planning and budgeting software company that was acquired by VFA, Inc. in 2006, and a vice president of the CRM Product Group at IBM. He was also a vice president at Software Artistry where he worked with fellow Trailblazer in Technology award recipients Don Brown, Bill Godfrey, Robert Compton and Scott Webber; and before that he was a senior analyst for Eli Lilly and Company.

“Scott is an incredible visionary and technologist,” said Scott Dorsey. “I had the pleasure of working with him for nearly nine years and have witnessed firsthand his passion for customer success, commitment to innovation and leadership in growing a business.”

McCorkle was born and raised in Rush County, Ind. in the small town of Milroy. He earned a bachelor’s degree in Computer Science from Ball State University and an MBA from Indiana University.

In addition to the Trailblazer in Technology, TechPoint presented awards to companies and individuals on April 23, in 17 different categories including Tech Company of the Year, Scale-up Company of the Year, New Startup of the Year, Investor of the year, Tech Educator of the Year, Company Culture of the Year, Corporate Innovator of the year, Innovation of the Year, Rising Star and Best New Tech Product.

TechPoint also announced that the late Denver Hutt received the first ever Community Champion of the Year award and the TechPoint Foundation for Youth announced that this year’s Bridge Builder award recipient is Rick Crosslin, scientist in residence – MSD of Wayne Township.


Browse photos from the event in TechPoint’s Facebook albums and watch videos on TechPoint’s YouTube channel.


The Mira Awards — named after a variable star thousands of times brighter than the Earth’s sun — represent the best of tech in Indiana each year.