TechPoint Foundation for YouthIf children truly are the future — as we so often hear people say — then making sure kids have programs available to spark their interest in the sciences from an early age is extremely important to the children themselves and to the future development of the tech community.

TechPoint Foundation for Youth is committed to inspiring Indiana’s under-served K-12 students to explore science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). That means connecting ideas, investments, industry, and individuals to exemplary programs that inspire students to pursue careers in STEM fields.

The foundation has helped dozens of programs that would otherwise go under-funded or be completely nonexistent without grant money from the TechPoint Foundation for Youth.

Recently, the TechPoint Foundation for Youth joyfully announced that 17 teacher projects from 15 schools were selected from among 36 applications to receive $7,565 in grants this cycle. It is the third year for the foundation’s EnablINg STEM Teacher Grants program.

The EnablINg STEM fall 2015 grant cycle, was open to all Indiana kindergarten through 8th grade classroom teachers in schools with a free and reduced price lunch percentage of 55 percent or greater. This competitive grant program provides grant dollars to teachers to support the purchase of supplies and equipment that enhance STEM curricula in the classroom.

Applications were evaluated based on their ability to:

  1. Implement hands-on, project-based STEM programming
  2. Extend resources beyond the school year
  3. Define clear goals and outcomes
  4. Emphasize student engagement.

Chosen projects ranged in topic from robotics to 3D modeling to frog dissection, and will reach approximately 3,800 Indiana students over the next 3 years. Teachers could request between $75 and $500 per project, with the majority of grantees receiving between $400 and $500.

Here is a list of the most recent grant cycle recipients for the 2015-2016 school year:

  • LaShonda Huff, Carl Wilde School #79-Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Ryan Hendren, Creston Intermediate Academy- MSD of Warren Township
  • Heather Martin, Eastbrook Elementary School-MSD of Pike Township
  • Jennifer Cornett, Eastridge Elementary School-MSD Warren of Township
  • Kim Sapp, Elwood Intermediate School-Elwood Community Schools
  • Melissa Hupfer, George W. Julian School #57, Indianapolis Public School
  • Sean Atkins & Kylie Keevy, Harshman Magnet Middle School-Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Erin Currie, John Marshall Junior High School-Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Adam Scott, Julia E. Test Intermediate School-Richmond Community Schools
  • Laura Fulton, Pipe Creek Elementary-Maconaguah School Corporation
  • Stephen McFarland, Sidener Academy #59- Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Jennifer Sigler & Dave Shafer, Skiles Test Elementary-MSD of Lawrence Township
  • Kris Samick, Spencer Elementary School-Spencer-Owen Community Schools
  • Eileen O’Keefe, Thomas D. Gregg #15-Indianapolis Public Schools
  • Sue Keene, West Newton Elementary School-MSD of Decatur Township

The TechPoint Foundation for Youth raises dollars from the community to support this project each year, with bi-annual grant cycles that support fall and spring semester programming. The Foundation has set out to grow the program to $20,000 in teacher grants gifted during the 2015- 2016 school year to schools serving Indiana’s most economically disadvantaged students.

Visit this page if you are interested in learning more about the grant program, donating, or applying for a grant.

button (27)

Go here to learn more about The TechPoint Foundation for Youth.