Celebrating mission-driven people or organizations that have helped push our tech community forward; especially relating to diversity, equity and inclusion

As tech in Indiana continues to grow and expand, we get a front-row-seat to see how not only the tech landscape is drastically changing, but how these organizations are investing in their local communities. It’s not just about organizational growth; it’s about the entire community growing alongside you to provide future opportunities for all.

The Community Impact Award celebrates mission-driven people or organizations that have helped to push our tech community forward—the impact makers of the year. Whether it’s through a corporation, an agency, a social enterprise, or through grit and determination as an individual, these inspiring champions have made a difference for all of us, especially relating to diversity, equity, and inclusion.

This year’s nominees have proven investing funds back into your community is the driving force behind sustainable success. The nominees are doing so many great things, including easing the stress new start-ups encounter by facilitating mentorships, increasing eligibility and awareness of post-graduation support programs, and focusing on opportunities for Black, Indigenous, and People of Color. Others are helping whole city sectors increase their knowledge and reach to better protect and enable communities or making technology upgrades more accessible. Through education, empowerment, affordability, and accessibility, these nominees are laying serious groundwork to improve Indiana’s booming tech community.

2021’s winner, Anushree M Bag, realized what a transformative opportunity was upon her, even amidst a pandemic. As the executive sponsor for a cybersecurity assessment that covered all 92 Indiana county health departments, she also found inspiration and time to create GWIT (Government Women in Tech). This group initially supported nine women and has since grown to over 150. Her determination to create a space to support and empower women in government STEM was clearly needed and received with outstanding support.  She continues to diligently lead women in tech by example and assistance. 

This year’s Mira Awards nominees are not afraid of setting the bar higher. This year’s nominees include:

  • gener8tor (Indianapolis, Ind.) — gener8tor’s turnkey platform connects startup founders, investors, corporations, job seekers, universities, musicians, and artists through conferences and accelerator programming.
  • Indiana Executive Council on Cybersecurity (IECC) (Indianapolis, Ind.) — More than 250 Council members have donated hundreds of hours and millions of dollars of cybersecurity resources and services to the businesses, local governments, and citizens in Indiana.
  • MBXax, MatchBOX Coworking Studio Acceleration (Lafayette, Ind.) — MatchBOX Coworking Studio’s MBXax supports founders with acceleration programming that’s designed to be stage- and sector-agnostic, with mentorship and microgrant opportunities. 
  • Spark, MatchBOX Coworking Studio (Lafayette, Ind.) — Spark is a year-long program for BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, and People of Color) business owners to level up their skills and build a network of trusted peers, mentors, and ally service providers.
  • The Polis Center at IUPUI (Indianapolis, Ind.)— Polis works with community and research partners to design, develop, and test innovative place-based policies, practices, information, decision-making tools for healthier, more resilient communities.
  • Tipton County Chamber of Commerce (Tipton, Ind.) — The Tipton County Chamber of Commerce has been investing in leadership development to create a prosperous Tipton County. These efforts have included public & private sectors and non-profit curricula.
  • Rupal Thanawala, change leader, Trident Systems (Indianapolis, Ind.) — Rupal Thanawala is a business and digital strategy leader and CEO of Trident Systems. She is a compassionate social impact leader serving on multiple boards with a focus on DEI, education, tech & STEM.  
  • Sunny Lu Williams, president, TechServ (Indianapolis, Ind.) — TechServ President Sunny Lu Williams is dedicated to lifting underserved communities. Few people have created as powerful an impact across the state of Indiana as Sunny Lu Williams.
  • Linda Calvin (Indianapolis, Ind.) — Linda loves solving problems using digital and communications solutions. She believes in technology not for the sake of, but because she’s witnessed how technology influences change, resurrects and establishes brands, and positively impacts the bottom line.
  • Indy Women in Tech (Indianapolis, Ind.) —Indy Women in Tech’s mission is to inspire women and girls of all ages to pursue STEM-related employment in Indiana by introducing them to experiences and career opportunities in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics as well as provide the necessary financial support, mentoring, training and education.

“The Mira Awards gala is not only the biggest tech event in the state, it’s also the barometer of Indiana’s tech industry growth, strength and dynamism,” said Mike Langellier, president and CEO of TechPoint. “The robustness of this year’s class of nominees bodes well for our tech community’s future, and we’re excited to finally, hopefully, celebrate together in person after two years of remote galas during the pandemic.”

The 2022 Mira Award winners will be announced during TechPoint’s in-person gala at the JW Marriot on Saturday, April 23, with presenting sponsor Salesforce. This will be the first in-person gala held since 2019, before the COVID pandemic. A limited number of sponsorships are available for purchase until March 25.

Get more information about the 2022 Mira Awards and join us on April 23 for the unveiling of the “Best of Tech” Mira Award winner for Community Impact of the Year!